Tasmanian History and Hospitality
Whites Corner is a charming group of heritage buildings next to the beautiful town square in Bothwell, the gateway to the Central Highlands of Tasmania. The complex comprises of seven historic buildings, the first of which was built by John White in 1837 as the town's general store. This building has now been tastefully restored and fitted as a two bedroom cottage, blending heritage charm with modern convenience. As John White prospered, in 1850 he built a larger shop and a grand storekeeper's residence for himself and his family, which has also now been restored and fitted as a comfortable four-bedroom house in which guests can spread out and enjoy.
The remainder of the buildings, a bakery, butchery, tannery, stables, dairy and woolstore are set in beautifully landscaped gardens and guests are encouraged to explore. Bothwell is a charming village established by Scottish settlers in the 1820s. There is a distinct Scottosh theme to the town, with a premier whisky distillery, the oldest golf course in Australia and the Australasian golf museum amongst the key attractions of the region. Situated on the Highland Lakes Road, 15 minutes off the Midlands Highway, less than an hour from Hobart, 45 minutes from the Museum of Old and New Art (MONA) and on the doorstep of premier trout fishing lakes, this is the ideal destination to relax and enjoy rural Tasmania at its finest.